The Bluegrass Cup is the premiere Central Kentucky Homebrew Competition. Every year around May or June the competition attracts the best brewers and judges from around the country to the beautiful Bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Due to the Covid 19 pandemic the 2020 Bluegrass Cup was canceled. The 2021 Bluegrass Cup will be held on September 18, 2021 at Shrewsbury Hall on the Lexington Brewing & Distilling Co. campus in Lexington, KY. Checkout the Bluegrass Cup competition website,, as the date nears for details.

2019 BOCK Club Winners

Michael Nickell ‐ 3rd Place ‐ 1D: American Wheat Beer
Gary O’Gorman ‐ 1st Place ‐ 3C: Czech Amber Lager
Dirk Franzen ‐ 2nd Place ‐ 6A: Marzen
Michael Nickell ‐ 1st Place ‐ 7A: Vienna Lager
Drew Speer, Co-Brewer: Clay Bunn ‐ 2nd Place ‐ 10A: Weissbier
Brandon Garrett – 1st place – 11A: Ordinary Bitter
Ben Hoh – 2nd place – 15B: Irish Stout
Gary O’Gorman – 3rd place – 12A: English Golden Ale
Ryan Harding – HM – 15B: Irish Stout
Michael Nickell ‐ 2nd Place ‐ 16C: Tropical Stout
Jason Murray ‐ 1st Place ‐ 17C: Wee Heavy
Dirk Franzen ‐ 2nd Place ‐ 17D: English Barleywine

Dirk Franzen ‐ 1st Place ‐ 22A: Double IPA
Ryan Sarhan ‐ 3rd Place ‐ 25A: Belgian Blond Ale
Katy Miller, Co-Brewer: Stephanie Miracle ‐ 2nd Place ‐ 25C: Belgian Golden Strong Ale
Jeff Kirkner – 2nd Place – 26B: Belgian Dubbel
Michael Nickell – 3rd place – 26B: Belgian Dubbel
Joel Wheeler – 1st Place – 28C: Wild Specialty Beer
Derek Caskey – 2nd Place – 28C: Wild Specialty Beer
Chris Barnes, Co-Brewer: Chuck Anderson – 2nd Place – 30A: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer
John Spicer, Co-Brewer: BOCK – 2nd Place – 33B: Specialty Wood-Aged Beer
Max Kutler – 2nd Place – 30B: Autumn Seasonal Beer
John Spicer, Co-Brewers: Ben Hoh, Chris Vandergrift – HM – M3B: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Mead